The watercolors won

Nashville Watercolor

Nashville Watercolor

It didn’t really take much thought, but I decided to go ahead and use the watercolors for this. I really do need to practice some realistic watercolor architecturals and I’d rather start small and work my way up.  This turned out okay.  I am not overly fond of the corner curb area, but I like the shading of the tree on the building.  I had to make up across the street since it was totally blocked by cars, so I kept it vague.  This blog photo is not the greatest and I may try to change it out.   The colors are richer in reality.  Today’s weather, with the rain, is not conducive to a reshoot, so I’ll have to go with what I have for now.

Yesterday, I finished up the rest of the ornaments, except for the varnish.  I think next up will be some more pet portraits.  I had an inquiry for a horse portrait a few weeks ago, so I better practice one.  Fortunately, I have several head shots of my sweet Lady than I can use.  And I think I want to do another canine head, too.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. said-simply
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 10:46:43

    Ruth, this is wonderful! Beautiful painting/illustration. Great use of shadow and light.

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 11:08:08

    Love it. I can feel the sunshine on my right shoulder.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 21:30:35

    Beautiful! Love the color and those shadows on the buildings.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 22:55:57

    OMG! Are you kidding? The shadow play in this piece is wonderful. I like the contrast of the architectural shadows to the tree shadow. I think it creates loads of interest! One day, you’ll even add the cars! 🙂 I just know it. Very, very nice!

    Reply

  5. Lisa Chelkowski
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 21:52:08

    I think your artwork is amazing and so I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check out the link http://lisachelkowski.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/liebster-award/

    Reply

  6. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 07:38:49

    Really nice work Ruth. Your architectual pieces are so detailed and done with so much care and thoughtfulness. They make me want to walk down that sidewalk.

    Reply

  7. Sound Art Creator
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 12:40:06

    Reblogged this on Sound Art Creator.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

