And now for something completely different

Angel ornament

Angel ornament

Ever since the debacle of the coaster tiles, I have been trying to think of something new and more seasonally sensitive to put into my etsy shop. There is an outlet around here that sells overstock  and remainder books from 50 cents to several dollars and I have looked off and on in the arts and crafts section for some ideas. Who can resist a $2 art book bargain?

Rocking horse ornament

Rocking horse ornament

Just for fun I picked up a few books on handmade paper and in one of them was a section on ornaments made using ceramic cookie molds.  Hmmm……. I think I have some of those molds.  They  used to hang decoratively on the kitchen soffits of my last house but were now packed away because there are no soffits here.  I dug them out and sure enough they were the exact same thing as in the book.  I looked on line for the paper pulp and ordered a small amount to see if I could actually do this.

Fraidy cat ornament

‘Fraidy cat ornament

And do you know what?  I could- at least the paper molding part.  The painting has proven to be a bit more of a challenge because I haven’t done much decorative work like this.  It’s been slow going so far.  I had to get more acrylic paint and some more suitable brushes, but I’m learning as I go.  I don’t see it replacing my architectural work, but it is a fun diversion and maybe I can sell a few in my etsy shop.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 11:15:25

    You’re doing great with them. They look like fun items for your shop.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 17:59:08

    Very sweet! They all look really nice but the fluffed out cat is my favorite. 🙂

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 23:16:10

    I think you are painting them just right! The cat is going to be a hit! He or she is unique!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 17, 2013 @ 11:06:53

      Black cats are hard! You have to place the highlights just right. He is more of a Halloween ornament than Christmas, but you never know. He couldn’t be anything but black with that pose.

      Reply

  4. Linda Halcomb
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 06:09:19

    Love it! I think all artists need to be able to step away from their work, to take a relaxing break and these are a wonderful, creative way to rejuvenate.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 17, 2013 @ 11:08:54

      You are so right. I have another Nashville architectural on my board right now and I am finishing up 3 more ornaments, but am out of the linter paper for now. If I find some more molds I like cheap, I will make some more.

      Reply

  5. Gray Dawster
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 05:46:11

    I am sure that these gems will sell like hot cakes, they are awesome 🙂

    Andro

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 07:32:45

    Thanks. It is good to try different things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

