The barn, watercolored

The watercolor barn

The watercolor barn

I must say, I do like the way this turned out. I was a bit hesitant to start the watercolor process because I haven’t done anything quite like it in a long time, but I think I did okay with it.  After staring at it for a little while, I finally just picked up the brush and threw on the paint.  I started with some greens and yellows for the trees and grass.  After I had a base for the foliage on I went to the barn. The gray siding was quite intimidating but I kept layering it.  I let it sit for a day and then added more greens, yellows, and umbers.  All in all, it took 3 days to finish.  Then I forced myself to stop because I was starting to fiddle too much.

According to the owner, the siding was made from chestnut boards and you could still see a bit of orange coloring peeking through the gray in her photos.  It adds a nice bit of contrast to the mostly weathered boards.  The barn was built over a stone foundation and I’ll bet that the stone was locally quarried or even found in the fields as they were cleared.  I am sure it has seen its share of history.  I wonder how many animals have made their home in those stalls.

Oh, and the buyer got it in the mail just yesterday and she likes it too.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaci
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 08:30:09

    Ruth, I have enjoyed reading back and seeing what your challenges are with art – since i have no clue myself, LOL! Fun to see, and your work is gorgeous 🙂

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 09:25:39

    Ruth, It turned out great! The opening in the fencing is just calling for some horses or cows to come on in.

    Reply

  3. DixCutler
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 10:01:35

    It’s great, Ruth. I can just feel the texture of that wood.

    Reply

  4. Cindy D.
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 11:46:21

    I love it! The colors and details are terrific.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 21:18:55

    OMG! This is my very favorite of yours!!! Just love everything about it, Ruth. OK, now I must go back up and read what you wrote. Truly wonderful!

    Reply

  6. Sound Art Creator
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 17:46:13

    Reblogged this on Sound Art Creator.

    Reply

  7. Kathy
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 09:27:06

    This barn is SO beautiful. I just love it. You do such lovely work, Ruth.

    Reply

  8. Linda Halcomb
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 06:11:20

    Very nice. I like the subtle use of color and underpainting.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 17, 2013 @ 11:10:59

      Thanks, Linda. I had some trepidation with the watercolor since I usually use the pastels, but the reviews have been positive so far. And she wants her house done in the spring after the new landscaping is in. It’s something to look forward to.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

