The Barn

The inked barn

The inked barn

Before I had to take another short trip out of town over last weekend, I managed to finish the barn inking.  This is a 14 x 10 which will have a watercolor overlay instead of my normal architectural pastel.

It was rather complicated for my poor eyesight to keep track of where the open boards on the upper siding were and then figure out the layout of stalls underneath.  Her pictures were good so that helped.  Fortunately, the landscaping was  fairly simple.  I had to ink in the trees, the pastures, and the fences.  The owner had planted some grasses and black-eyed susans along the front fence and I expanded on those to add a little color to the front.  I was pretty satisfied with it at this stage.

Watercolor up next.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 10:44:29

    It looks great. I love the texture of old barn wood.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 14:16:21

      Yes, Dix, it was a bit different for me to do wood siding. Most of the barns I have done have been stone. The watercoloring has been going well and I will post it next time.

      Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 17:11:13

    Wow, it looks great! The stark combination of straight lines and rugged foliage is terrific!

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 09:38:37

    I really, really like this one, Ruth. Even the boards missing on the siding. I think this is my favorite of your architecturals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

