The cottage

Sometimes deadlines can be a good thing.  I have to finish and send off both of the architecturals by next Thursday so it’s nose to the grindstone.  Not that I really mind, but I have a week and a half of necessary travel in the mix too.  So times a’wastin’.

The cottage

The cottage

I really enjoyed working on the cottage.  I think it is a setting for outdoor weddings and such so there are lots of happy vibes. I inked it over two days and let it sit for a fresh view.  The only hard thing was the furniture. It’s not in my normal range of subjects, but they turned out okay.  In fact, that was my break point the first day.  I had most everything finished except the deck and I didn’t feel up to tackling them.  Otherwise 8×10 is relatively easy for me to work on.  Out it goes today.

I have finished the inking on the barn too.  I’m starting the watercolor on it soon and then it too will be out the door.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 17:35:21

    Wonderful cottage! I really like the chairs on the porch. It’s a great detail.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 17:53:10

      Cindy, I stared about 10 minutes at the reference photo and then redrew them several times before inking them in. Furniture is definitely not my forte. They did turn out okay though.

      Reply

  2. Karen
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 18:24:44

    Ruth, I think it looks great. I think the chairs on the porch are perfect. I’ve had several challenging commissions in the past with subjects that were, shall we say, a challenge, and I found that I tackled them just fine and it help me grow. You’ve grown splendidly!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 20:37:39

      I agree, Karen. Sometimes the only thing to do is to just to do it. I wish my photography was better because I like the original more than the photo. The work always seems to flatten out somehow in a picture. I just don’t want to spend the money for a higher pixel camera right now. Maybe when I’m rich and famous I’ll get a super duper one or have someone else take them. LOL

      Reply

  3. tomsimard
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 01:16:34

    Superb.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 00:02:29

    This looks great, Ruth! The furniture reads real well and I like all the foliage contrasting with the small man-made straight lines of the cottage.

    Reply

  5. Linda Halcomb
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 12:28:16

    This is exquisite work. Lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

