Commissions’ pencil work

I thought the two pencil ups for the commissions would be good to see.  I had to be out of town again last week but was able to get this part finished for both before I left.

Cottage drawing

Cottage drawing

I am pretty pleased with this smaller one so far.  It is only 10×8 but the pencil drawing is fairly detailed and took quite a bit of time.  I had to add in most of the deck steps as they were cut off in the picture.  It is nicely wooded and I wanted to nestle the cottage in the foliage.  The porch is screened in rather than glassed which will be a little bit different texturally.  It is only pen and ink so I should be able to finish it pretty quickly.

Barn drawing

Barn drawing

The barn drawing is somewhat larger – 14×10.  Someone liked the stone barn drawings in my etsy shop and wanted her barn drawn so here I am.  It is not as complicated as the cottage, but has its own unique peculiarities.  The foundation is field stone and the upper is faded chestnut boards.  The barn is surrounded by fenced in pastures and the lower part has five stall openings underneath.  She wants it watercolored like the shop barns so that will be a bit different than most of my architectural work.  I should have a large portion of the smaller one done today and maybe even finished on Monday.  the barn will take a bit longer.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 09:36:37

    Ruth, I can’t wait to see these finished. They are looking great.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 10:27:38

    Hooray for two commissions! Looking great so far!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Sep 29, 2013 @ 10:34:17

      Thanks, Cindy. It’s a first for me, but certainly a good one. I think I may alternate between the two. That way I may be able to work a bit longer at one time and not be over focused on one.

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 21:38:23

    These are super. I can hardly wait to see them finished. Yes. I like the idea of the top one nestled in the foliage.
    The barn….. Love the barn even before you add the color, Ruth.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Sep 29, 2013 @ 22:04:13

      I am having fun inking them in so far. I did most of the cottage today. I stopped when I got to the deck chairs as I wasn’t quite in the mood for furniture. LOL Also, I don’t like to complete a drawing in one day. I need to step away and see it with fresh eyes tomorrow.

      I did a very little bit on the barn too before I had to quit for the day. I would like to finish them both by Thursday because I have a scheduling conflict, but we’ll see how it goes.

      Reply

  4. foresterartist
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 14:31:09

    These are looking awesome. I can’t wait to see the finished products.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

