Coloring the daisy linocut

Colored linocut

Colored linocut

I watercolored the daisy linocut the day after printing it, when I was sure the printing ink had fully dried.  I chose to make the flowers golden yellow and the vase a mossy green.  To add some depth, I edged the left side of the vase with a bit of red and put a bit of the yellow ocher on the table.  I rather like the way the subtle colors add to it.

And, in a typical klutz move, I managed to ruin the note card print.  I had made a small smudge on the back side of the card when I printed it and tried to remove it with a watercolor eraser.  I have used the eraser a few times on small smudges on watercolor board paintings and it worked just fine.  This time, while it removed the smudge, I created a wrinkle in the card paper and it is now unsaleable.  I even tried to iron it flat but no dice.  Sigh.  I guess I will have to use it for myself and not list it for sale in my etsy shop.  Next time I make a linocut print, I will try again.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 13:59:30

    A real shame about the card but I love the way your daisy linocut turned out.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 18:59:08

    Oh no! I have done a similar thing with a smaller piece and creasing the paper. So frustrating! The warm colors are really nice and it would look great in a room with warm, earthy colors.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 21:33:33

    I like anything yu do with your linocuts, Ruth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

