Another cheetah painting

I sold the cheetah watercolor a few weeks ago out of my etsy store so I decided it would be a good time to draw a replacement. Once again, I looked through my photo references and found something suitable.  I also felt it would help as cat portrait practice.

Cheetah

Cheetah

I started the inking with my nib pen and then adding the watercolor overlay.  It is relatively small at 5″ x 4″ but turned out fairly nicely.  Cheetahs are such elegant animals.  I think I took the photos many years ago at the Cincinnati zoo which has a breeding and research population.  Maybe this month or next I can get up to the Indianapolis zoo.  I have pretty well run through my reference photos and would like to get some new ones.  I look forward to using my digital camera this time around.  It will be so much easier to see if I have something appropriate instead of taking rolls and rolls and not knowing what i have until after they are developed and I am miles and miles away.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 13:18:09

    I like this combination of ink and watercolor that you do. It is especially effective with the cheetah markings.

    Reply

  2. Maree Clarkson
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 08:00:45

    This is great Ruth, beautifully done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

