Mr. Turtle’s Portrait

Mr. Turtle

Mr. Turtle

I am still pretty busy outside of the studio these days so I have been choosing smaller projects that I can pick up or stop easily. I have talked about Mr. Turtle before and decided that a small water color/ink portrait of him would fit the bill.  I also need more animal portrait samples for my etsy shop and the picture I took of him last month was pretty good for that.  He is a lovely shade of dark brown with golden markings.  I think the markings are so distinctive to the individual that each one can be identified by them.  As you can see, he was peering up at me when I took his picture.  I never tried to pick him up so he wasn’t too afraid.  He kept his head out the whole picture taking session, even when I walked around to photograph him from both sides.  I think we have come to an agreement.  I kind of like the look in his eye.

I have been using the nib pen and india ink to sketch out a base for the watercolor in the animal portrait work.  I like the fluidity and variation of the pen stroke for the animal art versus the technical pen for the architecturals.  Also, I am not really using the nib pen for a lot of detail in these.  I want to keep a sketch like quality to the work.

And Mr. Turtle has been living life on the edge lately.  Last week he had to be picked up out of the way a riding lawn mower and relocated to a safer spot.  All I can say is “whew” for him.  He’s fairly good size but seeing him in the tall grass was fortunate.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. afternoonartist
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 20:14:56

    Lovin’ this slow movin’ dude! Great texture on his/her shell.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 18:50:21

    Very cool, Ruth. I’d watch the box turtle in my Granny’s back yard when I’d go to visit. Every year. She’d even talk to him or her, so I started to, also. Your post takes me back.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Bullying turtle named after Gordon Brown | Dear Kitty. Some blog
  4. ruthsartwork
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 21:04:14

    I rather like looking out for him. It is always a special treat to come across him in the spring. I usually see him once or twice after that too.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D.
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 21:38:12

    Terrific turtle! The head and markings are great and he’ll make a great addition to your animal examples!

    Reply

  6. foresterartist
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 14:34:22

    Fantastic turtle Ruth. I obviously haven’t been by for a while to see all of your wonderful animal art. What a treat!

    Reply

  7. ruthsartwork
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 14:38:26

    He’s my little wildlife friend in the yard and I enjoyed drawing him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

