Black cat brotherhood

My fingers are a bit sore today. I have spent the last several days doing morning weeding in the flower beds, The weeds and crabgrass took over the hillside when I was too busy to attend to them and I am paying the price now. I try to fill up the wheelbarrow daily and have made quite a bit of progress. Maybe I will actually meet my September 1st goal of having it presentable. Not weed free, mind you, but presentable.  We haven’t had rain in quite a while so the ground is very hard.  I have to dig up the dandelions with the trowel, but the shallow rooted grasses seem to pull up somewhat easily.  Alas, my hands can only take so much and I don’t want blisters.

Black cat brotherhood

Black cat brotherhood

I worked inside on the two cat portrait during the heat of the afternoon.  They are rescue cats who found a wonderful new home and once the first one got over the shock of having to share his good fortune, they became good friends.  The bigger one does like to take advantage of his size and sits on his “brother” when he can, but all in all, they seem to enjoy playing together.  They can be a regular thundering herd as they chase each other around the house.

I think that, all in all, I prefer to do the dog portraits, but these haven’t turned out too bad.  I think I will try one more cat portrait of just the head and see where to go from there.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 15:13:28

    Sweet cats! I like dogs better, too. But cats can be pretty cool.

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:36:30

    More a dog person, too, but we’ve lived with several cats over the years we spent on two acres.
    This pair look great. Like their ears.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Does a black cat know that it’s black? | Millard Fillmore's Bathtub
  4. lesliepaints
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 17:19:02

    This is excellent, Ruth. You have captured their playfulness and the sheen of their coats. Nice composition and shapes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

