Nashville, colored in, mostly

Nashville Streetscape

Nashville Streetscape

Here is the latest piece colored in with the pastels and lightly sprayed to help pop the colors.  I am thinking I may darken the trees a bit more and play with the shadowing somewhat yet. There were actually no trees on the original photo, but I decided that I would add some to soften it.  Old downtowns should have streetside  trees anyway, don’t you think?

Fresh picked berries

Fresh picked berries

This is also blackberry season.  As you can tell, I have been spending several mornings a week out in the blackberry patches. Surprisingly, the berries are not quite a good as during last year’s drought.  I think it has been too cool and wet to have a bumper crop.  I did manage to find this year’s location with larger berries, but none of them are quite as tasty as in 2012.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 19:08:00

    A beautiful pen and ink Ruth. We love the blackberries here too. Unfortunately, they are tiny this year, and the local bears are beating us to them. I alway give the right-of-way to the bears.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 05, 2013 @ 22:50:00

      Thanks, Tim. I think I would give way to bears, too. Fortunately it is not an issue here because I love picking my blackberries and black raspberries. Ours are generally smaller this year too, although usually there is one or two places where they are bigger. It seems to change every year so I have to hunt for it. The cooler, wetter weather seems to be working against the size and sweetness.

      Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 19:31:15

    I do think trees are always good to add! (Ok, maybe not ALWAYS, but quite often!) Your trees always look great! Along with the potted plants they always add a nice organic touch. Lovely streetscape! And too bad about the berries! Maybe they would be good for cooking?

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 05, 2013 @ 22:53:11

      I agree about the greenery additions, Cindy. As for the berries, I generally make blackberry buckle for John anyway. I freeze most of them and he puts them in his fruit smoothies, too. I much prefer the raspberries to the blackberries when eating them fresh so it’s no big deal to me. I just like picking them!

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 18:22:08

    Beautiful streetscape, Ruth. I like it with the trees and the shadow cast by the one. I know nothing about blackberries other than I like eating them!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 06, 2013 @ 21:10:15

      I like the effects of greenery too, Leslie. As for the blackberries, eating is the best. Unfortunately the canes are pretty vicious, with large thorns. The underside of the leaves are spined too, so it is hard on the body. I am a mass of scratches on my legs and arms even though I wear long sleeves and pants, courtesy of the berry bushes – and of the rose bushes that they like to be near. Still, when I see a really big cluster with extra large berries, it is hard to resist. LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

