Back to the studio

Modified Nashville streetscape

Modified Nashville streetscape

I managed to make a little time for myself in the studio this week and finish most of the inking for the current piece.  It is a pretty straight forward drawing, but I added greenery to the scene and changed some of the facades to add interest.  I am going to use the pastels for color this time around.  There will be a lot of red in the trim pieces and I want the depth of color that the pastels give.

On the backyard front, I scared up Mr. Turtle yesterday while attempting to make a dent in the massive weeding chore in my flower beds.  He was hiding in the tall crabgrass and, to both of our surprise, there he was, exposed to the sky when I pulled the weeds free.  He scuttled away when I turned to toss them into the wheelbarrow.  It was a surprise little visit and I am sorry to have disturbed his home, but the weeds really are  out of hand.  It will take another week or two to get the flower beds even moderately presentable.  And I picked the first of the blackberries today.  I got over a quart, with the promise of much, much more next week.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 20:45:08

    Beautiful drawing! I love all those textures and look forward to the color. And I’m so jealous of your blackberries. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 24, 2013 @ 20:51:09

      Thanks, Cindy. I am looking forward to putting on the pastels. I like picking the blackberries more than eating them. LOL I prefer the black raspberries to eat. But John loves my blackberry buckle and putting frozen ones in his smoothies so they are well appreciated.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 16:23:52

    Very good drawing, Ruth.
    It doesn’t go past me now that you have shared your Father’s creations in the previous post. There is something about your drawings of street scenes and homes that are akin to what he was doing. I will always remember that last post when viewing your architectural drawings. It is kind of nice to connect the two of you that way, methinks.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 29, 2013 @ 15:14:14

      Thanks, Leslie. I had not really thought of it in that way myself before this. We were at yet another memorial service this last weekend in Atlanta for John’s 92 year old godfather. I think I’m ready for some quiet studio time about now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

