A little gift

Last Friday my dear father passed away at 84 following a brief illness, leaving a large hole in my family’s lives. But sometimes God throws in a bit of unexpected distraction to lighten the daily experience. Early yesterday morning as I was watering some plants in my garden window and thinking about the day’s difficult tasks, I looked out to the front flower beds.  You will never guess what I saw strolling up the brick pathway.  It was a small, black, horned goat.  My son and I did a double take watching it walk the rest of the path and then step up onto the front door porch.

Peek-a-boo

Peek-a-boo

I am sure it could hear us talking inside because when I went over to the foyer, I saw it peeking into the house through the sidelight glass.  Talk about surreal.  It circled the house after we went out to see it more closely and perhaps make a plan of action, but it became apparent that we needed more help.  I had no grain to entice it and it didn’t seem interested in the offered celery.  And it had a respectable pair of horns.

Seen any coyote puppies lately?

Seen any coyote puppies lately?

I rousted John out of bed and had him drive to a neighbor down the road who raises goats.  It wasn’t one of his, but he kindly offered to come over to get it and take it back with him. So John, he, and his grandson proceeded to try to catch an unwilling victim.  Goats are smart and for a bit it evaded capture.  Finally, it made the fatal mistake of ducking into the garage where it was cornered and captured, screaming “you’re killing me” protests.    They made a nifty little halter out of a lead line and carried it to the truck for transport.  After one (almost successful) escape attempt over the side of the bed, they drove off with their prize.

I don’t know what cosmic message was being sent, but I do know it brightened the start of my day and my mother laughed when I told her about it.  And maybe dad did too.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaci
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 07:42:48

    What a fun diversion! Hugs and smiles 🙂

    Reply

  2. lynn
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 07:59:18

    Ruth, wonderful story! How sweet that goat was to visit you and add some lightness to a difficult time. I’m sure your dad is smiling.
    lynn

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 09:01:21

    Oh my goodness, what a strange thing! I’m glad he caused such a funny (and strange!) distraction. So sorry for your loss.

    Reply

  4. DixCutler
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 10:53:15

    So sorry for your loss, Ruth. I’d like to think your dad sent that goat to lighten your heart.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 11:23:22

    What a wonderful little visitor! Poor guy run astray.
    I’m sorry to hear of your loss but glad that life brought an interruption to any grief and I’m sure your Father is laughing louder than any of you! 🙂 Love and light to you and your family, Ruth.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 16, 2013 @ 11:30:31

      Thanks, Leslie. It made mom really laugh which was nice. All of the family is here keeping her spirits up. Her sister flew in from Phoenix and is staying for a month. We are very grateful for that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

