A mixed bag post – the primitive horse painting and more coyote puppies

Redone background

Redone background

I worked some on the background of the primitive horse this week.  It just was floating too much so I added a complementary lilac to the background.  It still didn’t seem quite enough.  I decided to add more of the mossy green I had originally placed around the base. Then more and more.  When it finally felt like I was on the verge of overdoing it I stopped.  I think I like it better now.

I caught something!

I caught something!

I thought I’d add an update on the puppies today, too. We have seen them several more times in the last few days – once for almost an hour as they wandered about the back yard, hunting and playing.

On top of the wood pile

On top of the wood pile

It turns out that there are actually 5 of them.  Once when they were out and wandered farther away from the woods, a doe ran top speed across the lawn past them.  Soon afterwards mom and dad came out from just where we thought they might be watching and moved them back closer to the woods.  That’s when we saw the fifth one.  It must not be quite so bold as the others.  I was glad to see the parents.  As we suspected, the pups are not unsupervised and the parents are keeping a close watch from just inside the woods where we can’t see them.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 15:51:47

    What a difference the background made with the horse! I think it looks great! As for the pups, I hate to think of what icky thing that one might have in its mouth. The wood pile shot is great, like they’re playing King of the Hill. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 19, 2013 @ 16:58:35

      I agree, Cindy. It took me a couple of days to decide what to do. I put on the lilac first and then overnight, decided to add the green.

      I don’t know what the pup was eating either. He hunted and pounced on it for quite while before walking off with it in his mouth. Eventually he did eat it. They did have fun on the wood pile and hung around on it before going off of the back one at a time.

      Reply

  2. foresterartist
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 01:12:10

    Wow, Ruth, horse and puppies! How awesome is this post!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 20, 2013 @ 08:18:20

      It’s been quite a week. I like the horse better now and I think the puppies on the woodpile is the cutest picture I have taken of them. I do wonder what that one is eating though. He pounced on it for a good 5 minutes before grabbing it and carrying it away. We haven’t seen them since mid Tuesday in the front yard instead of the back so I wonder if the parents have moved them again.

      Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 13:32:26

    It is a treat! We have seen them twice since living here – now and in June 2009.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jun 23, 2013 @ 15:39:20

    Wow! I really like what you did with your horse! Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

