Primitive horse painting

In keeping with “small art” in June, I decided to use a primitive horse chatchke as a model.  I got him as a gift many years ago and he now lives on a dresser in my studio framed from behind by a 26″ flat rice basket.

Primitive horse watercolor

Primitive horse watercolor

I had the worst time sketching him out.  I am using a rectangular piece of watercolor board and initially had it in landscape layout.  He has over long legs and I kept running out of room for them.  Finally, it occurred to me to just turn it to portrait and that worked out much better.  I can be slow sometimes.  I outlined sketchily in ink and then put down a base layer of watercolors.  His legs and head are metal, but the base and body are wood.  I used a dark sepia on the metal parts and yellow ocher for the wood.  I left it alone over night and today added more of both.  I put down some green to ground the figure and decided to highlight with purple.  At the last, I went back and added more ink.

I’m up in the air how I feel about this one.  I don’t dislike it, but I’ not overwhelmed with it either.  I’ll let it sit for a few days and decide whether to list it or not.

And, I have been keeping an eye out for Mr. Turtle this spring. The last few years I have seen him plodding down the gravel driveway when I was out weeding, but I missed him this year.  I was concerned about his survival given the months of drought, but fortunately, John saw him last week under the deck so he has already made it around the house.  I’m glad to know he is back even if I wasn’t the one to see him.  Maybe he’ll decide to head into the hillside flower bed and I’ll get to say hello.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 17:40:41

    He’s kinda cool. Like his slightly surprised expression! I’ll be interested to see how he looks later.

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 17:49:16

    The amount of white in it bothers me. How about going across the color wheel from the yellow-orange (gold) in the body and putting some blue-violet behind the horse? Just an idea.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 17:53:22

    The form is great! If it was me, I might abandon the wood/metal idea and make him a bit more uniform. Actually, if it was me, I’d probably cover the wood area with some fine black detail, like swirls or flowers. 🙂

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 13:02:54

    I like how you mottled your color, describing his form. A carved look is what I am thinking. Very cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

