Flowers and felines

A huge cone flower

A huge cone flower

My first cone flower started to bloom last week and it is in its full glory now. I originally had thoughts of picking it to put into a vase on the island countertop, but it just seemed to get bigger and bigger as the blossoming proceeded. It has turned out to be one of the largest cone flowers I have ever seen in the beds – and the shortest stemmed.  As you can see, it is at least 5″ across. Maybe I am just used to the smaller, drought sized ones from the last few years, but it just seems huge.  I have a few others coming on, but they will only top out at 4″ or so.  I decided I could not pick such a magnificent specimen and I certainly want it to go to seed.  They have been slowly spreading throughout the front beds and I love their magenta color.

The preferred world view - upside down

The preferred world view – upside down

And, I have had a little house guest for the last few days.  My “grandcat” is spending some vacation time here while his mom is traveling.  He likes to wile away the daytime hours, when she would normally be at work, sleeping under the loft sofa, but in the late afternoons, he comes down to visit with us and take possession of one of the comfy upholstered chairs. He is quite the talker when he wants to be and will carry on a conversation for some time when he is in the mood.  He yowls when he is mad over some perceived insult such as being put into his cat travel box. When let out, he walks away, loudly proclaiming his much injured status for several minutes. You’ll never have to guess what his mood is.  Fortunately, most of the time he is a happy little guy.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 19:23:30

    Your cone flower is amazing. I’ve never seen one. Maybe they do not grow here.

    Looks as if your houseguest is getting on quite well. I’m always amused by the adaptability of cats – they decide what they want and you adapt:-)

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 20:13:14

    I really like the cone flowers. I never had them before here, but they spread themselves nicely from self seeding and they come in the purple and white. My kind of flower – no maintenance.

    Other than a fancy to munch on my plants, Gizmo is a very nice houseguest. I like having a cat around that “talks.” He is very expressive and you can usually tell what he is thinking about.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 12:14:37

    Ooh, a furry house guest! I guess I’m more an animal person than a flower person. The flower is quite lovely though, and I wonder if this year’s crazy weather contributed to its bigness? Maybe more will come in super size too! 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 10, 2013 @ 16:54:25

      Yes, a furry house guest. We haven’t had a fur baby in quite a few years now, so he is always welcome to visit. I admit to having thoughts of getting another dog lately, but so far I haven’t acted on it.

      I am not a gardening person really, so I like flowers that can take care of themselves. The cone flowers fit my bill exactly. Plant once and they reseed and spread without further effort.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

