A few spring flowers

It was a busy week outside. I dodged 2″ of welcome rain over 3 days, getting several hours of weeding in and most of a day planting 150 vinca plugs on a hillside. In trying to avoid getting a farmer’s tan from all of the work in the sun, I managed to get sunburned. Not too bad, but not what I really wanted. Anyway, the vinca got planted and more weeds got pulled.  I hope I can get caught up with the yard work sometime in June, but who knows.  Spring has raced by already and July will be upon us before we know it.  (And berry season as well.  Yum.)

Daisy inked

Daisy inked

For some studio time, I decided to pick a few of the spring/summer flowers to paint.  The Chinese irises are out and the wildflowers have started to bloom in profusion.  The daisies in the yard and the fields tend to get mowed down, but the ones at the edge of the woods flourish nicely. They make wonderful bouquets and are a long lasting subject for a still life.  I drew this up yesterday and inked it up today.  I liked the combination of the white flowers and the deep purple irises.  I am in the middle of painting it now.  It is in keeping with smaller projects I want to stick to until July.  I like it, except for the daisy farthest to the right.  That one should probably be facing more to the side.  We’ll see what the painting part does with it.  I will probably end up defining the the daisies with more ink, but I didn’t want to overdo the initial phase.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Jun 02, 2013 @ 17:38:56

    Eeek, Spring (and May) certainly has raced by in record speed! I hate that saying, that time goes faster as you get older. Because it’s true! Arrrgh!

    I think there is no wrong with daisy bunches. And that one you think should be tilted a different way looks fine! It’s a lovely bunch and I look forward to the colored version!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 02, 2013 @ 18:19:24

      Spring has certainly raced by me. It has been pretty cool and wet for a change. Time does go faster as we get older. I didn’t see how, when my Grandma said that to me years ago as well as “who is that older person in the mirror”, but she was right.

      I have the flowers about half done. I felt like I got to a stopping point and I wanted to reevaluate tomorrow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

