Happy Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day to all out there in cyberspace. I had a houseful today, as a mother and a daughter. The day was clear, but on the cool side. And, yikes, another chance of patchy frost tonight.  I worry most for my Japanese maples. Between the late frost last year and the 3 years of drought or semi drought, they have taken quite a beating.  They look better this year than they have for a while, but another frost might be deadly.  Then the temperatures are supposed to be in the 80’s by midweek.  Weather whiplash.

Spring at last

Spring at last

The cool spring has delayed the trees so greatly that some haven’t haven’t fully leafed out even yet.  The leaves are still quite minimal on more than I would have expected mid May. Unfortunately, I don’t think that is the reason our lakeside poplars look so bad.  As you cans see, some are completely dead, while a few are putting out a very reduced amount of leaves.  They have taken the recent drought years and the massive scale infestation quite hard.  We will probably cut down the dead ones in a few weeks.  Some of the ones that are bad looking we may cut off and hope some shoots come up off of the remainder of the trunk.  They would grow quite fast with an intact root structure.  I think we will have to wait and see what develops over the summer but the prognosis is probably not good.  In any case, I will miss having those trees there.  I thought they enhanced the view of the lake.

Ending on a good note, I want to say thank you to all of my followers.  I crossed the 100 mark this week.  Two and a half years ago when I started, I could never imagined how much fun it would be and how many wonderful people I have met writing this.  I hope you have enjoyed my wandering art journey, the wildlife updates and the landscaping adventures.  Here’s to the next years of blogging and new friends.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    May 12, 2013 @ 18:21:51

    Happy Mothers Day (a bit late) to you, too.

    Hope at least some of your beautiful trees will pull through. You are right about them enhancing the view.

    Reply

  2. coastalartglass
    May 12, 2013 @ 18:39:46

    Happy Mother’s Day and Congratulations on crossing the big 100 mark. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 12, 2013 @ 18:46:24

      Happy Mother’s Day to you too, Joy. I am inordinately pleased to have passed the 100 mark. And not very many of them are family either. LOL

      Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    May 12, 2013 @ 19:22:25

    Hooray, happy mother’s day! I must admit I don’t know much about trees, though I am surprised those trees near the lake suffered from drought conditions when they are so close to the lake? I guess the roots aren’t really equipped to absorb groundwater, or maybe just can’t make up the difference, or don’t even reach the lake water?

    I hope you’ll be able to report that all the trees are doing much better once we get into summer! 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 12, 2013 @ 19:34:30

      It is farther to the lake than the picture seems to show. And they are on a little rise compared to the lake level. I have since read that poplars are sensitive to drought and after 3 years, they have finally hit their limit. The bad scale infestation sapped (no pun intended) the last of strength of some. I will be sad if they all die. Even if we plant something, it will be years before they get that big. That’s why I am hoping that some suckers will grow. I know they won’t be as strong because they would grow rapidly due to the bigger root system already there, but I don’t care. I just want the trees.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

