Touching up the backyard bridge watercolor

abstract2a_fl2_5295I let the backyard bridge watercolor sit for a day and it became apparent to me that it needed something else.  While I was pleased with the inking, the colors were too similar in value and the inking got lost.

I decided to add depth to the foliage with greens and browns and I defined the branches more strongly.  I added shadows under the bridge and by the pond stones as well as in the background shrubs.  The flowers are a bit redder.  I am hesitant to add too much more definition at this stage because it is so easy to overdue the adjustments.  You can compare the changes I made by looking at the last post.

I think I’ll try one more and throw caution to the winds in terms of adding more defining colors.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    May 08, 2013 @ 07:53:41

    Wow, looks terrific! I think the shadows, the greater definition of the big branch and some foliage, and the brighter reds made a big difference! Lots more depth and more wildness to this one. Very cool!

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    May 08, 2013 @ 10:32:10

    Cindy is right; it has really come to life.

    Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    May 08, 2013 @ 14:10:55

    Thanks, Dix. I am even more pleased with it in person. I just don’t have the touch to perfect the on line photos. And it is amazing how different the monitor colors are on the mac vs a 7 year old pc – which is in fact my main working computer. It is hard for me to tell what anyone is seeing out there on the net.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    May 10, 2013 @ 13:13:55

    Perfect! You pushed the contrast and stopped just in time, methinks. I love these!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

