Is this abstract enough?

Architectural abstract

Architectural abstract

This picture has been somewhat of a process.   After I stretched the paper Sunday and  let it fully dry overnight, I rewet it and then threw on the watercolor washes, reminiscent of the method for gift tag blanks. I must admit it was not totally random as I put the reds for the flowers on the bottom and some blues on top.  I didn’t know what orientation I would end up using so I spread the red and blue around.  My main concern was that there was enough color saturation at this point.

It took another day to dry and for the ripples to flatten out.  You can see where those were by the more flowed areas.  In the meantime I flipped through my Key West photos because of the vibrancy of the foliage and home colors there and combined the look of two houses.  After the basic freehand ink lineout, I added colors to further define the elements of the architecture and then touched up the inking for the positive/negative balance.   I am not yet convinced that I shouldn’t do more, but I don’t want it to muddy up, so I am a bit hesitant.  What do you think?

I was inspired by Leslie and Cindy to make this painting.  Cindy has suggested making something with wilder colors for the buildings and Leslie has been showing some paintings based on abstract backgrounds on her blog.  Check their blogs out for a wonderful treat.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    May 01, 2013 @ 17:10:46

    It is very striking Ruth. I love the splashes of color.

    Reply

  2. incidentallearner
    May 01, 2013 @ 17:23:44

    It is lovely! I will have to try this soon:)

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 01, 2013 @ 17:52:14

      Thanks. I still find it intimidating to look at the colors and pick out a pattern. Perhaps it would get easier with time

      Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    May 02, 2013 @ 06:43:05

    Great effect! I really like those two big areas of blooming red bushes in front. Though maybe some of the orange is a bit spotty (many distinct roundish splatter spots)? But I don’t know! I love the building details.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 02, 2013 @ 08:22:34

      Thanks, Cindy. That is actually yellow ocher and not quite so in your face as in the photo. It is spatter. The colors are a bit more muted than shown.

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    May 05, 2013 @ 08:28:05

    OMG! This is great, Ruth! Your line work juxtaposed against all that flowing color works so well. Keep working with these. I see no reason why you can’t do your realistic work which is fantastic and experiment more with this technique, also. Now, I must go up and enlarge it again and enjoy exploring all that energy and color.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 05, 2013 @ 09:10:59

      Thanks, Leslie. I must admit that the “abstract” background had a little bit of planning to it. I do plan on doing a few more, but on a little bit smaller scale. The stretcher board (which you can see in the photo) for this is 21″x14″ which is big for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

