Plant linocut

We got a taste of spring this week with temperatures reaching the lower 80’s briefly.  My daffodils have continued to bloom (and I to pick them) and the red dogwood has finally come out.  I bought a blood red dogwood last year from the big box store and I am pleased to say that it has a multitude of  dark red flowers. I also saw a coyote scoping out three deer in the shallow end of the pond, but by the time I had the telephoto lens switched over on my camera, he was gone.  I am sure the does were more than a match for a lone coyote and he only stopped to make sure no one was weak enough to merit more than a glance.

Still life linocut

Still life linocut

In a week of sporadic studio time because of out of town family travel, I managed to make up another set of linocuts. I recently sold both of my dragon prints out of my etsy store, so I was able to combine replacing those prints with doing something new.  I am happy my dragons found another home.  Those were two of my favorites art pieces.  I had in mind cutting some kind of potted plant this time around.  I was inspired by the jade plant I have in my garden window in the kitchen so I hope this is somewhat suggestive of it.  I didn’t bring it down while cutting the linoleum block, but just tried to create a pleasing positive/negative space with the leaves and the pot.

Colored linocut

Colored linocut

I knew I wanted to color the second one with a light mottled mossy green.  The trick is, how much to do.  I like to start small with the thought that, for these, less is more.  I think leaving some white helps highlight the colored leaves and doesn’t make the whole thing too dark.  I am relatively pleased with the result.  what do you think?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 17:23:01

    Congratulations on your sales! I also had several sales this weekend, after a month of zero sales. Maybe Spring is brightening up everyone! And I really like this linocut! Really lovely shapes and crisp lines. Have you ever tried to color one in brighter colors? Or would that be too dark with the black background?

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 19, 2013 @ 17:37:18

      Yes, it was a nice surprise to come home to after a difficult day. I have done some with brighter colors. The colored dragon print I sold had a vivid red streak running through it. I have to replace that one yet as I didn’t have enough of the heavier print paper precut to do both blocks. I ran the straight black and white dragon with these as I had more of that paper ready. It isn’t suitable for coloring because it is too thin and warps badly with the watercolors. Maybe tomorrow.

      And, yes, I was afraid that with all of the black, a darker color would be too much. I’ll look at it critically later.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 18:39:32

    I just plain like your linocuts!

    Reply

    • ruth Hayes
      Apr 29, 2013 @ 18:55:14

      Thanks, Leslie. I think I like working with the positive/negative space that the linocuts entail. The watercolor addition is just for fun.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

