Spring Blush

When I looked out my windows yesterday morning I was greeted by a wonderful sight. Due to the warmer weather and some badly needed rain, over the course of one night, the trees have started to leaf out with a tinge of spring green. Normally we get understory coming out first, followed by the flowering trees and then the rest. Not so this year. The flower buds on the red dogwood in the front yard have barely started to enlarge. Same for the redbud trees.  The little bit of underbrush visible is, of course, the vicious wild rose bush.  Of all things hurt by the cold and drought, you would hope it would be the wild roses.  No such luck.  The rose bushes cause me more pain and hassle than the blackberries and black raspberries combined.

Spring...finally

Spring…finally

It is no longer quiet when I step outside.  The birds have started their spring territorial and mating songs.  The bunnies are invading my flower beds and the evil squirrels have been racing across the yard. The does and the yearlings having been having fun in the shallow part of the pond, leaping around and playing, splashing water all about.  One of the toms took a leisurely and solitary stroll across the yard before heading back into the woods. He didn’t look like he had a care in the world.  No hen troubles yet, I guess. Temperatures have been swinging wildly but at least it has started to feel like spring.  I actually saw a teeny blue butterfly yesterday.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 11:57:11

    Hooray! We just got a cold snap of some kind, after some lovely weather in the 60s. But soon! I am sorry to hear about the evil squirrels! Are they really a terrible nuisance? They often seem very charming to me, with their bushy tails and scolding chatter. Oh my goodness I would love to watch those does and yearlings playing in the pond!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 13, 2013 @ 17:18:53

      We just had a cold snap, too, but the weather is warming back up now. I used to laugh at the squirrels until a few years ago when one chewed the soy based insulation around the gas line on John’s truck and it burned up to the sky and then down to the ground. I’m not so forgiving now.

      I like watching the deer, especially when the fawns come in a couple of months. They love to cavort in the water and it is fun to watch 3 or 4 racing around the yard.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 14:49:11

    You are ahead of us, but that’s a no-brainer as I live further north. The grass is green, now. Thanks for the sneak peek!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

