Architectural vignette

Little pen and ink

Little pen and ink

I spent several days out of town visiting family last week, so studio time was cut a bit short. I have been thinking of trying an architectural using one of my nib pens and started on this before I left.  Using a piece of leftover board, I made this 3.5″ x 4.5″ mini painting.  I deliberately went small because the need to constantly reload the pen manually makes something larger difficult to do.

While I like it okay, I am thinking that the small size is working against the subtle nib stroke variations that I was going for. I think if I try this again (and I probably will) I may have to go larger.  I used a magenta/purple for the shading, but I think it still needs a splash of color. Where, I haven’t decided yet.  Maybe I’ll add more of the magenta.  Something bold.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 12:19:05

    I suppose the color is a bit uniform but I really like the color with those red, yellow and brown tones! Wonderful bricks, too.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 14:57:48

    I was going to say I liked the colors in this, Ruth. I think you did a fantastic job of working with a nib on such a small format.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 08:15:58

    Very nice! maybe add a rhododrendron bush with magenta flowers? I do like the colors and the detail is impressive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

