Some coloring done

Half way colored

Half way colored

It has been one of those weeks and I didn’t have much chance to work on the architectural. I managed to get some time in this weekend and laid out the basic color palette.  This one has a bit more brownish brick than many of the previous ones, but it contrasts well with timber work on the gables.  The fancy brick patterns ended up being fun to do and added a lot to the overall look of the house.  I like the balance of the greenery thus far, so next sitting I will enrich the colors and shading.  Then I will add the spray and see what happens and what touch-ups need to be made.  I will probably redefine the ink work in some areas also.

The colors are still on the dull side of course because I haven’t sprayed it yet and also I had to take the picture inside under the lights.  It is snowing.  Again. Possibly a big snow.  Will this winter never end?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 12:51:37

    Well, we were supposed to get this big storm over the weekend but we didn’t, so hopefully it missed you also? Snow flurries today but I’m crossing my fingers the Spring is around the corner in more than just name!

    Love the warm browns in this! The detail is just astounding, really. Neat green color in the roof too. I agree, the balance of green foliage is just right!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 12:59:01

      Thanks, Cindy. We got 4+” of snow here, but the roads are basically clear, fortunately. Much worse north of here. I’m waiting for spring too. This is too late for a big snow storm.

      Taking the picture indoors washes out the color some.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 14:55:17

    I am looking forward to seeing this piece in its finished form. So grandiose!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

