Finished inking

All inked up

All inked up

I’ve finished the vast majority of the inking today.  I rather enjoyed putting in the gable brickwork, once I figured out a system to lay down the patterns.  I really would like to have talked with the masons who installed the brickwork in this area.  There are so many creative variations  and it was probably not thought of as unusual at the time.  I guess it is too expensive for most houses these days.

All in all, I am pleased with it at this stage.  The pastel will be a bit more brown than red and the limestone accents will be gray of course. I think the crenelated deck turned out okay and I will define it more with the shading.  I also like the shape of the double chimney.  I am rather surprised that the house didn’t have more of them but at least it adds visual interest to the left side of the house.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 11:59:54

    Gorgeous drawing, Ruth. This satidfies just as the drawing. Looks so massive!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 16:27:37

      Thanks, Leslie. It is a massive house. It went on quite a ways off to the right, but the entryway was here and there was enough interest without using the whole house. I’m sure it was one of the grander houses built in its day.

      Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 22:06:44

    Wow, amazing! All that texture and detail is terrific.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

