Corn stalk mish mash

I managed to make it over to the other craft store this week and, as I had hoped, it did have the green and yellow printing ink I wanted. Unfortunately, after that, things didn’t go as smoothly as I would have liked.

Corn stalk linocut

Corn stalk linocut

The day after the longer trip to the other store I set up to use the new inks. I wanted to use a streaky blend of the two to create a textured effect.  But when I went to squeeze out the yellow, it dribbled out a thin liquid along with the pasty ink. Not good.  I was unable to work out a smooth consistency with it.  I thought adding the green ink would help but it didn’t really.  By the time I got it to the consistency I needed, the colors were blended far more than I wanted. I also had too much ink.  I made a reasonable print, but it didn’t have the striated effect that I was going for.  You can see the center is a little bit lighter green than the edges, but I was going for a more dramatic variation.  I was glad to see that the little nicks I put into the ears came through.  I also think I will take more off of the sky area to differentiate it from the grassy ground.

I returned to the store and exchanged my tube for the only other one they had.  I did check this one first to make sure as best I could that it was okay.  I haven’t tried it out yet, but plan to this week.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 11:16:46

    Awesome!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 13:30:40

    Maybe for my next post – if it turns out visibly different.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

