I made him a goldfish

Black and white fish

Black and white fish

I finished up the fish linocut on Thursday and I think he turned out pretty well. I decided not to cut into the upper fin because I didn’t want it to get lost in the background.  I like the flow in his tail and lower fins but I didn’t want the upper fin to compete so I just left it.  After pulling the print, I still think so.  The positive/negative space seems good to me.  When I considered what color to paint him, it just seemed obvious to make him a fancy goldfish.  I used my yellow ocher to do it because I thought it would provide a rich contrast to the black.

Gold goldfish

Gold goldfish

What do you think of doing one with the golden body and aqua water? The idea of just the water colored doesn’t appeal to me.  Just thinkin’.

And I’m pretty excited because this week I have put a few things into a new brick and mortar shop in Indianapolis. She has a lovely selection of handcrafted items, art, and soaps.  Check out Lilly’s Soap Kitchen on Virginia Avenue if you are in the area.  And of course these are listed in my etsy shop.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 11:53:05

    He is a cute fish! I am not sure about the gold fish on black and white, so if it was me I would try some aqua water. Actually, if it was me I’d try some aqua-purple-green water! Maybe with the water color going over his scales, but do a darker green or other color on him?

    Congratulations on putting your stuff in a shop! I actually framed some originals with the intention of finding some local shop or pub or something to hang them, but haven’t ventured forth yet! 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 11, 2013 @ 12:01:47

      Thanks for the ideas, Cindy. I agree, maybe a blending of colors in the water if I try that. The gold actually works well on the real thing. It is a bit washed out in the picture and less textured.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

