Penciling up a Tudor architectural

Penciled Architectural

Penciled Architectural

I am enjoying mixing up the different styles and media for my artwork a bit.  I like doing the architecturals best of course, but I do feel that the linocuts and animal portraits help keep me fresher.

This time around I decided to make a companion piece to the last Ohio pastel.  I like working on the smaller scale, so I laid it out at the same size as the last one – about 8″x8″.  This one has a limestone surround and a five panel frieze around the door along with the timber work set into the brick.  The first floor window is a bay, set underneath the jutting second floor.  I have to make up an appropriate wooden front door because  the owners have covered it up with a storm.  I will keep its slight angle (not curve) at the top.  It also has some angled brickwork too which is always fun.

I saw a great blue heron down at the lake late this afternoon.  He must be happy the water isn’t frozen any more, but I can’t imagine there were any fish or frogs on the shoreline for him to catch.  I wonder what they survive on in the winter.  our fish are down deep.  Perhaps they hunt more at the creeks and streams.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 07:59:06

    Looks like it will be a neat one! As for the great blue heron, I’ve only seen them in Florida. I had no idea they could live in snow!

    Reply

  2. lisajaynemurray
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 19:51:42

    Hi

    I hope you don’t mind but I nominated you for ‘The One Lovely Blog Award + The Very Inspiring Blogger Award!’ (You can find details in this post if you would like to take part! Fine if you don’t. http://lisajaynemurray.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/what-a-lovely-welcome-back/)

    I love your sketches and inkwork…makes me want to be better!

    LjM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

