Thinking of spring

I enjoyed putting the pastels on this one in.  With the snow finally melting, the drab ground and foliage are coming back out and a bit of color is always welcome.  The lake has a skin of ice on it, but it will be gone soon with temperatures in the 50’s in the next few days and rain predicted.  Perhaps it will wash all of the sand and salt away.  And soon, I will be able to get my car out!

Spring colors

Spring colors

I did go ahead with the pastels because I thought it would look better with the richness of the medium.  I still have play a little bit with the shadows and the greenery, but by and large it is done.  I love the rounded doorway.  I am thinking of adding something more to the ivy on the doorway bump out too.  It seems to me to be hanging out a bit.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 14:46:43

    This is beautiful Ruth.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 16:22:36

    Thanks. After leaving it for a couple of hours, I still think I need to adjust the ivy a bit. Otherwise I am pretty happy with it.

    Reply

  3. Linda Halcomb
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 07:43:08

    Very nicely done. Our snow is still melting. I just got back from the Gulf coast and it was hard to come back to the grays and browns of an Indiana winter. I want to see if I can make something beautiful of those colors. Been thinking about it alot. Always paint more in my head than on paper!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 10:39:19

      Good to hear from you , Linda. I visited your blog a few times and it is nice to hear you were on a wonderful vacation. Our snow is almost gone and the predicted rain should take care of the rest of it. After 16+” I won’t miss it.

      The gulf colors and light are wonderful. We visited Key West some years back and I took a lot of pictures. I find the vivid pastels somewhat intimidating.

      Reply

  4. Cindy D.
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 10:30:26

    Wonderful! I think you could be right about the ivy, maybe a few small, dark shadows? Very neat architecture. And I always like that warm brown orangey tone you often use.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 10:45:19

      I have looked at it again and will definitely do something there. I don’t think it needs much though.

      I love brick. Our previous house had a red/orange/black/beige brick called Old English Tudor. I would have it again if I could.

      Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 12:25:18

    What really grabs my attention in this one is all the different shapes. Makes the doorway even more prominent. Love the speckling in the window panes, also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

