All inked in, because I’m mostly snowed in

The weather is improving here. The snow is slowly melting and perhaps I can get my car out by next weekend. Temperatures are supposed to rise into the 50’s so the odds are good.  I much prefer my car to the truck, partly because if I can drive it, the roads are mostly clear.  We have been seeing more deer lately.  They are tracking up the pristine snow with their footprints and their pawing through to the grass below.

Ohio spring

Ohio spring

With the weather shutting me in the house, I managed to get in time to ink the entryway and I rather like the way it is turning out. There is a little bit of intimacy to the flower beds and walk up to the doorway.  It still is a bit flat, with just the inking, but I will emphasize the bump out of the window and the overhangs.  I am going to use the pastels this time around. I think the the richness of the pastels will enhance the coziness of the picture.  The flowers will add a punch of color as will the slate roof.  It will be a little peek at the spring to come – my favorite season.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 13:39:32

    We’ve had just one bad day for driving, though we have a little snow on the ground. Of course the bad day happened when I had to drive home from work, and it was terrible! Fortunately there were few jerks and mostly everyone was very slow and careful. 🙂

    This looks like another beauty! Really nice detail and I look forward to the color!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 21:05:27

      We have already gotten 2/3 of the normal snow already and 13+” over last year at this time. At least it is supposed to be warmer this week and the snow and ice should be melted.

      I am looking forward to starting the color tomorrow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

