I’m baaack…

Entryway pencil

Entryway pencil

Hooray, I got my computer back last night and was able to download my pictures. I worked on a few small watercolors amid the holiday festivities, but I decided I wanted to do a smaller architectural again.  I have liked this Ohio entryway but not gotten around to using it and  I felt like I needed a change of pace from the larger storefront streetscapes.  I love the copper topped bay window and the curved brick of the entry bump out.   And having just seen The Hobbit movie, the  wide boarded, round topped wooden front door reminds me of a hobbit hole entry – though it is not as wide of course.  There are masses of tall flowers in the front along with some well placed shrubs.  Someone cared to make the entryway inviting.

Holiday Snows

Holiday Snows

The sun is finally shining today although the temps are still low (7 overnight, bleck, and not much improvement soon).  Here’s a picture of what we have been seeing with 3 snows in less than a week and over 16″ accumulation.  The snow storm pictures were too blurry to post. This morning I finally saw deer tracks where one pawed through the snow to expose some grass.  Not much of anything else recently, although my son did see coyotes twice, once chasing a doe up into the woods.  I don’t know how that turned out.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 11:42:11

    It’s always fun to see your initial drawings and watch them come full circle, Ruth. THis drawing has my imagination captured.
    Beautiful photo!!!!!! How peaceful and hushed.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 13:16:19

      I have it 1/2 inked now and I like it so far. It has a real sense of coziness.

      We are still looking at all of that snow. No real melting off of the roads and my car is stuck in the drive. It’s a good thing we have a 4-wheel drive truck or we’d be really in trouble.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

