A short note

I hope the holidays have been good for everyone. Minus the 15+ inches of snow we have gotten since December 26, we have had a wonderful time with family.  Way too much weather for me, although we can finally get out.  The lake and woods are beautiful, frozen and snow-covered.  It is lovely to look out at from the warmth of the house and the fireplace.

The wildlife has hidden itself away.  I have only seen a few deer tracks – not the deer themselves.  Even the birds have been quiet.  I threw out some old bread for them to find, but I may have to see if I can get some bird seed.  I don’t normally put any out because I don’t want to draw in the squirrels.  After our truck going up in flames on the driveway a few years ago because of squirrel squirrelliness, I tend not to put out  much that will attract them. These may be exceptional times, at least in the short-term until the snow melts.  And it may take a while for that with the temperatures in the teens and twenties for a while.

My blogging/camera download computer has been in the shop since Christmas Eve, hence the lack of pictures.  I hope to get it back in the next couple of days and resume posting pictures and artwork.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. timkeen40
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:16:28

    Sounds like a pristine winter wonderland. Have a Happy New Year.

    Tim

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:42:31

    Sounds beautiful — to look at. As for the birds, you can get squirrel-buster bird feeders. They are destructive wee devils– a neighbor had same experience with their car.
    Wishing you a happy, healthy and creative New year.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:17:08

      Thanks you, Dix. Same to you. I should look into those bird feeders, I suppose. It still makes me leery to have any seeds on the ground for them to find, though.

      Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 13:26:15

    I’m sure it must be lovely! I have no advice regarding the squirrels. My only squirrel comment is that once in a while among all the gray squirrels around the neighborhood I see a white one. I don’t think they’re albino, so it must be a color variation of the gray. The white ones seem to be particularly fluffy and cute, but it’s probably because they’re a bit of a novelty.

    Happy New Year and let’s have a great 2013 full of new art!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 13:36:55

      Thanks, Cindy. You have a wonderful year of art (and sales!) in 2013, too. I would really like to feed the birds regularly, but that was one expensive squirrel episode. We have both red and gray squirrels, but the prettiest ones I ever saw were small black ones in Michigan many years ago.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

