Back to Nashville

After the brief foray into the linocuts and watercolors, I decided to return to the architecturals but on a smaller scale. The large ones I did for the print company were rather tiring and I needed the break. The next few pictures will be in the 8×10 range instead of 12×16.  I think I do work better on a smaller scale somehow.  I know I prefer it so maybe that is the difference.

Nashville corner

Nashville corner

I drew up and painted this one Monday and Tuesday.  On the actual building they had bricked in the arched triple set windows on the second and third floors, so I put them back in.  I can’t imagine why that was done because the sets I copied from the left side remained, but I have rectified the error, adding back all of the character of this older building.  I debated watercolor versus pastels and decided that for the time being I may just alternate between the two.  The vote on the large ones was evenly split and I rather enjoy using both styles.

I like the darker brick color here.  I am not overly happy with the awnings but at least it is not horrible.  I probably should have just tried the more splotchy effect of the brick.  Oh well, maybe next time.  I didn’t want to just do another striped awning.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen coveny
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:41:55

    lovely work !! ..

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:44:25

    Thanks. I always like to look at it a couple of days later to get a clearer sense of how it turned out.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 08:46:19

    I do love the windows! And I love your style. It does seem to have less decorative bits than some (and I do love the decorative bits!) but it’s really a lovely specimen either way. 🙂

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:12:08

    I guess you’re right. It is a little plainer than some. I had to create most of it since they bricked in the window sets. Next one will probably be pastel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

