Dragonflies in black and white

dragonfly_4680I was away for about 5 days last week so there wasn’t much work done in the studio. While I was gone, I had the idea to do a dragonfly linocut.  I spent yesterday afternoon laying it out and then transferring it to the block.  I let it sit a few hours to decide what I wanted to do in the background and then did the basic cut out.  I am in the midst of deciding on the details, especially in the wings.

I think one of the reasons the linocuts are appealing to me now is the positive/negative space that it deals with.  Same as with the pen and ink, I have to balance to two.  I can’t do it in fine lines like I do with the ink, so I have to do it with texture.  Even if I add a bit of watercolor I still have to like the play of the ink and paper.

On the surprising side, the watercolor eraser I bought from Cheap Joe’s worked on the daisy painting.  I was able to lift enough of the yellow “mistake” to put it up for sale.  I am sure it took a little bit of the paper surface off, but I was very careful and it looks fine.

I will move back to the architecturals after I finish this linocut.  I have picked out a Nashville photo and will work on a little smaller scale for the next few.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 13:43:16

    Really cool and great depth! I saw this the other day but didn’t have a chance to leave a note – this month is going by too fast! (Or not fast enough perhaps, if you’re someone waiting for Christmas!) Also, hooray for the watercolor eraser!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 13:51:41

    Yes, the month is flying by. I have gotten everything in the mail so I am relieved. Now there just may be a few things that I see by chance.

    And yes, hooray for the watercolor eraser. I was skeptical (and careful) but it seemed to work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

