Wheat painting

wheat_4678A few weeks ago I bought a little tea rose plant at the grocery store. It was very inexpensive and I liked the thought of a little floral color in these dull days before winter actually sets in.  It is much more delicate to care for than I thought it would be.  I have to keep careful tabs on how moist the soil is or I will come in and it will be drooping over.  I lost quite a few of the buds this way and if I buy another one, I will get one that has many already opened.  Those are a little bit less sensitive.

Anyway, to make a long story short, I also bought it because it had two wheat shafts stuck into the dirt and I wanted those.  I thought they might make an interesting quick study piece.  I drew it out one day and inked it the next.  I let it sit another day because I felt the composition still needed something.  Sure enough, the next day I decided to add a few more leaves and I like it better.   I first (mistakenly) drew it with my rapidograph and then I used the nib pen to create more line variations and texture.  I layered on the yellows, greens and a little bit of brown.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 12:03:50

    It came out very nice. I agree with you Ruth. I always need to put my work away for a day or two and look at it with fresh eyes, because there is always something left to do to it.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 12:09:44

    Ooh, I like it! Wheat is cool with it’s little patterns and sort of hairy bits. As for keeping plants, I just can’t do it. They die and I feel guilty. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 05, 2012 @ 12:23:27

      Thanks, Cindy, All of my plants have to pass the “survival” test. I am notoriously bad at watering and babying plants and if they live I may get more.

      I don’t think I had ever noticed the hairy bits on wheat before but they sure do add to the picture.

      Reply

  3. DixCutler
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 15:00:22

    Really love this one – the color and the texture come across so well.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 16:50:59

    Thanks, Dix. I debated how yellow to make the wheat and still be able to keep the leaves on the green side.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 12:50:04

    I enlarged this so I could see your pen marks. Am totally impressed. Wheat is not easy. You pulled it off.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 10:34:50

    Thanks, Leslie. I was mad at myself when I realized I had inked the whole thing with the rapidograph pen. After I redid it with the nib, I decided I liked the effect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

