The perils of being me – my inner klutz strikes again

Colored flowers

I had a chance to work on the flower picture on Friday, getting myself into a nice working groove.  I had spent over an hour putting the watercolors on over the ink when, to my horror,  I looked at the lower right portion of the painting, and I saw that I had inadvertently brushed my sleeve in the bright yellow paint and then smeared it on the paper.  Yikes!  I spent the 20 minutes trying to scrub out the yellow from the board with moderate success.  The board is a crisp white so anything shows.  I will try again today and I am going to buy an eraser sponge from an on-line art supply store on cyber Monday since shipping is only a dollar then.  At this point, it can’t hurt to try.

I am afraid if the eraser doesn’t work miracles I won’t be able to list it for sale and will end up just using it for prints.  I think that photo editing program will allow me to remove any visible yellows for the print process, but it is still discouraging after putting so much time in on it, not to be able to list it.  Oh well, at least it was not a commission piece.

I do like the combinations of the yellows, golds and greens and the composition pleases me.  All in all it was a nice break from the large architecturals and if I hadn’t made a mess of the substrate, I would consider it a success.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 12:57:32

    These are pretty, Ruth. I would have taken that smear, added water, a few other colors and allowed the water to carry it places. Sometimes our accidents help us to explore. I know. I know. Sometimes we just want things to turn out the way we planned them.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 13:05:32

      Thanks, Leslie. I seriously considered that, but it was more of a gobby smear and I didn’t think the placement was really conducive to incorporating it. More of a judgement call I guess.

      Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 13:31:54

    Nasty when something like that happens. That said, it is lovely. I adore these colors.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 13:53:07

      I was mad at myself when I did it. Carelessness on my part of course since I had brushed the yellow with the same sleeve just a few minutes earlier and not learnd my lesson.

      Reply

  3. Cindy D
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 11:10:52

    So sorry about your smear, but it certainly looks wonderful all cleaned up! (Hmm, it did the other day when I looked at it, but I think you took the image down?)

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 27, 2012 @ 15:15:17

      It just must be a computer glitch, Cindy, because I haven’t been on the computer until just now. When I look at the painting in bright light, the yellow is still slightly visible, so I am sure all I will be able to use it for is prints. If I ever get that figured out. I would be really pleased with it if I hadn’t made that boo boo.

      Reply

  4. Cindy D
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 11:11:37

    Ok that’s weird! It just came back! Really lovely contrast and composition in it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

