Let’s compare my Nashville streetscapes

Pastel Nashville

So, here they are.  I have now finished two Nashville streetscapes in different materials. I have decided to put them up together so that they can be compared directly. For sure, they are totally different.  The watercolor is a bit more ethereal than the pastel.  The pastel has more depth and richness of color.

Watercolor Nashville

I can’t really say which one I prefer.  They actually took about the same amount of working time, although the pastel was probably slightly longer.  Everyone is always amazed that I can put in the color much more quickly than I can lay in the ink.  What I’d like is an opinion of which one you think is more successful.  I’ll be happy to listen to any and all thoughts.  When I look at them here in the studio, I can’t decide.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 10:42:53

    Both lovely! I prefer the watercolor, partly I think because the street is so dark in the pastel, making the whole thing darker? It also looks a bit overcast with the darker sky too, though it may be suffering because it’s right next to the watercolor with so much more lightness. I do like the richness and solidness of the pastel, but I really love the watercolor!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 11:14:11

    Thanks, Cindy. My problem is that I like the one I am looking at. LOL

    Reply

  3. DixCutler
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 11:38:59

    Tough call. I like both of them a lot but, in the end, think Cindy has it right. The pastel is just a bit too intense. Also, I’m a sucker for watercolor!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 12:31:42

    Thanks, Dix. I guess it is a good thing it is hard to decide.

    Reply

  5. foresterartist
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 13:37:23

    Wow Ruth, both are excellent! I’m almost always prefer watercolor, but your pastel is truly remarkable.

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 19:03:42

    I really like them both, but I prefer the pastel’s richness and earthiness.

    Reply

  7. lesliepaints
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 10:53:04

    Hi Ruth,
    I think what you have, here, are two exceptional architectural pieces and the mediums, both, did what they were designed to do. Both are very marketable and I believe it is going to be each viewer’s personal preference. Which medium is the most fun and enjoyable for you?

    Reply

  8. ruthsartwork
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 10:59:15

    You know, Leslie, I really can’t say. I had fun with both. The inking was actually the most difficult part and I can’t not do that. It is interesting that votes were evenly split between the two, so I guess it is a personal; preference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

