Nashville in pastel – preliminary

I put on most of the pastels yesterday afternoon and then let it sit overnight.  I think I masked the errors in the middle building some, but of course I can see it.  It is still in the “dull” phase but I like the combination of the reds, browns, and greens.  I may soften it some  with yellows later, but right now I am fairly satisfied.

Pastel Nashville

I am hoping this afternoon will be dry enough to spray so I can continue.  No outdoor photos or fixing due to a misty drizzle. It’s a nasty damp cold.  I still have to work on the shadowing, but the basic colors are there. I will use some colored pencil to help me in the smaller areas. The pastel sticks are not made for really fine work and I don’t like to waste them by shaving to an edge.  It should be done soon.  I think I might try something a bit smaller but in the 3/4 ratio next.  Then I will have enough to send to the print company – if I can ever figure out how to make the high resolution photos without it costing me an arm and a leg for each one.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 14:11:35

    Neat! I don’t think I’ve seen this middle stage before. The colors do look great! And I can’t see that tiny window issue any more. I think you may be imagining it now. 🙂

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 14:28:07

    Thanks, Cindy. The fixative really makes a difference to the colors and even now I am sometimes surprised. I am glad you think I have minimized my mistake. I will always see it, though.

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 00:13:44

    Very very nice!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 09:18:30

    Thanks. I did get to spray it yesterday, so I will finish it soon.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 17:29:07

    I don’t detect the window issue, either, Ruth. This is beautiful. Can’t wait to see where it goes from here.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 15:39:01

    Thanks, Leslie. I think, as the artist, I will be able to see it. LOL I am working on the shadows mostly now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

