I chose the pastels

After thinking it over, I decided to use the pastels to color in the mill. I wanted to have the depth of color in the foliage that I knew I could get with the pastels, especially with the size of this piece – 16″ x 12″.  I felt in the mood for going back to my basics after the linocuts.

Preliminary color

I have laid the preliminary browns on the stones and the greens for the foliage.  It lacks depth right now, but I will be adding that with some purples and reds as well as more of the earth tones.  It is still on the dull side since I haven’t sprayed it yet.  I am being cautious since on one of the more recent pastels, I overdid the fixative and it affected my photos.  The pastels themselves looked okay but when I tried to take pictures the light must have refracted between layers and I could never capture the depth of color that was there.  Most likely it will be finished by the weekend.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 14:36:29

    It’s coming along beautifully.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 16:14:29

    Thanks. I am getting ideas on how I want to finish it. I plan to work on finishing it tomorrow and then letting it sit for a few days for a fresh perspective.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 17:18:04

    Wow! The intricate brick and woodwork is so cool! And so many different line styles for the trees and grass. Looks amazing! I do agree maybe a few spots of color, but it sounds like you’re on top of it. 😉

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 17:30:01

    Thanks, Cindy. I do like the effect of adding the reds and purples. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

