Finished inking the mill

It has been cool and wet here this week.  While I appreciate the rain, I am not looking forward to the winter cold.  I have seen quite a few does and this year’s fawns but no bucks yet.  And the squirrels have been scampering across the lawn hiding their finds. I think that the wildlife has appreciated the greening of the foliage that has recently occurred due to the increased rains.  The pond hasn’t risen yet, but I am sure it will as time goes on.

Inked stone mill

I have been inking the rest of the stone mill the last few days, avoiding the raindrops and the chill.  There wasn’t much left to do, but the stone and the lawn took a lot of time.  I actually stopped putting in all of  the grass early on, intending to leave parts of it white for a more contrasting effect.  After letting it sit for a bit, I decided that after I added the color, it wouldn’t look right without more inking.  So I spent the next few hours putting more time in on the grass building the positive negative space.

I am in a bit of a dilemma now.  I can’t quite decide whether to use watercolors or the pastels.  The past stone barns have been colored with the watercolors, but the size of the drawing makes me want to use the pastels.  The watercolors will have a softer feel but the pastels will be more vivid.  I will have to decide tomorrow when the coloring begins.  Maybe I should compromise and use crayons.  Now that would be different, wouldn’t it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 12:39:29

    Wow! This is amazing. Maybe my favorite one. Ugh, I hate trying to make a big decision that will affect the final piece. This is an issue digital artists don’t have. Which is why, despite the fact that digital art might be very much as difficult as hand drawing, just very different, you can usually avoid heartbreak because you can go back to a previous point. And that’s a big deal! With traditional art you have to learn to correct things. 🙂

    Of course, with all your experience, I have no doubt whichever color path you choose will be great! Looking forward to seeing the colored version. Also, I am not looking forward to winter cold, winter driving, and walking my dog on icy sidewalks!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 12:45:33

    Thanks Cindy. Winter is my least favorite season. No dog to walk, but we are thinking about it.

    I really haven’t decided what to do about the color. AAck.

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 13:52:10

    Just beautiful!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 14:03:49

    Thanks. I hope to be able to say that after the coloring. LOL

    Reply

  5. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 19:27:09

    This is a beautiful piece of work. I can’t wait to see which media you choose. Just don’t lose the detail. It is so well done, it deserves to be the focal point.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 21:32:22

    Thanks Linda. I am leaning towards the pastels, even though I like the effect of the watercolor on the stones. I think I need the vividness of the pastels for the foliage.

    Reply

  7. Aaron Crute
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 14:56:34

    I was on your site and I believe I identified that mill as being the grist mill from Spring Mill State Park in Mitchell, Indiana. I used to frequent that mill growing up and when I lived in Indiana, now I am in Ohio due to job change. If I am right about the grist mill that is the subject of your artwork, the item you defined as a covered bridge is in reality the Saw Mill that is next by the mill which is driven by the water in the Mill Race by a tub mill wheel below the Saw Mill building. I am an architectural CAD Draftsman and a hobby artist and love architectural artwork, you do great work and the mill also looks very nice

    Reply

  8. ruthsartwork
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 18:36:22

    You are absolutely right, Aaron. It is in the Spring Mill State Park. It has been many years since I was there with the school outing. I have long since forgotten the details, so thanks for clarifying that.

    I also did architectural CAD drafting for for many years for my husband’s timber frame company. It is where my love of architecture developed. It’s nice to meet a fellow enthusiast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

