Stone Mill

Stone mill start

I have been thinking about drawing this stone mill for many years now and felt it would be interesting to work on now. I haven’t done a stone building in a while and it will be fun to work 0n one again.  I played a little with the placement of the covered bridge, moving it a bit to the right.  I decided to add some trees and small foliage to the front, rather than leaving the huge lawn that was in the photo.  It seemed to want a bit of softening.  As I start the inking tomorrow, I may move some of it around or adjust sizes, depending on how it develops.

I’m sorry the photo is a bit dark but I draw lightly in pencil so I can erase it and it is not conducive to photography on the white board.  Still, you can get the gist of where the picture is going, which is all I really want at this stage.  I probably will use the pastels for the color overlay instead of the watercolor.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 14:51:16

    I enlarged this in order to be able to view this, Ruth. The addition of the tree is a great idea! It really adds to the depth of the piece. I’m looking forward to seeing this finished.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 16:01:28

    Thanks Leslie. I’m glad it appears that way to you because that’s what I intended. I’ts almost inked up now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

