Rocking horse print

Red rocking horse

As I suggested in my last post, I made a lino print from another found object from my house. I have a little decorative rocking horse that has spent its entire life adding a bit of color to a shelf in my guest bath. I found him several years ago at one of the box decorator stores and bought him because I liked the size and the primitive aspect.

After I cut the plate and printed it, I added some red watercolor.  I had always meant to color in the saddle and bridle, but after I looked at it, it seemed necessary to add color to the rockers.  Since I made this print, I have removed some of the background around the rockers to help delineate them more. They seemed a little lost unless I painted them.  I also made one up in yellow accents instead of red.  I rather like the effects of the added watercolors on all of the cuts I’ve done so far.  Maybe when I have a better feel for the positive/negative spaces the reverse cutting makes I’ll be more satisfied with the monotones.

I have one more block from the set I bought, but I haven’t decided what to cut yet.  I think I like the bird the best so far, but we’ll see.  My next piece on the board is actually an architectural of a stone grinding mill with a waterwheel.I have been thinking of doing it for a while and the time seems right.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 14:55:30

    I just scrolled through your posts on linocuts, Ruth. You are doing fantastic. I like them all, especially that city one and the bird. Oh for more time and I would join you in this but I barely get my classes planned and time to paint, anymore.
    I like the red on the rockers, also. Gives the color addition balance, I think.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 16:03:54

    Thanks. I’m having some fun. I like the addition of the colors because I am not quite good enough to balance my positive/negative space in the cuts. I need to have a break sometimes and this time around it is with the linocuts. I need to get more.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 19:29:47

    This is very well done. I admire you for taking this on. I’ve been interested but never had time.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 21:34:12

    Thanks, Linda. It has been a great change of pace. Fortunately, I had most of what I needed except the paper and some fresh ink since what I had was from college – a few decades ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

