Just a touch of color

Shore bird

Well, when it comes to the block printing, I have a ways to go.  I feel all thumbs just yet and still have to get better judging the amount of ink to roll on.  Add to it the fact that I DON’T like to get my hands dirty, and there  are still some technical difficulties.

I printed both of the linocuts and I think I am pretty happy with them. I decided to make several copies at the same time and take the ones that weren’t quite as crisp and add a bit of watercolor to punch them up. I made it minimal to start but I decided I liked it that way.  They look a little folk artsy to me so I didn’t want to get too detailed.

Turtles

Thus far I have used both the mounted and unmounted blocks and have decided that while the unmounted blocks are a little bit easier to cut on, the mounted blocks are easier to print from.  Since the difference is not that great and I need all of the help I can get printing, I probably will replenish my stock with the mounted type.

I already have the next one decided so keep tuned.  Once again the inspiration was just a knick knack from around the house.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 10:26:29

    They are wonderful. I love the turtles.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 10:38:19

    Thanks.Dix. I like these two more than the last two.

    Reply

  3. Sandy Lewis
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 16:15:15

    I like them both Ruth

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 16:35:39

    Thanks Sandy. They were fun.

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 17:55:26

    Ruth, the beige gives the print a sepia look. I really like the effect.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 18:17:35

    Thanks, Joy. It is actually a mossy green. My apple shows the correct color but my pc makes it more brown. I like the bird a little better, but I like the composition of the turtles. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted.

    Reply

  7. Beth
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 21:54:12

    I like these!

    Reply

  8. ruthsartwork
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 22:12:49

    Me too. I am surprised how well they turned out.

    Reply

  9. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 19:33:17

    Love, love, love the turtles and the color you chose for the bird is just right (moss green or brony gold…both would seem to work) what I see is eye catching.

    Reply

  10. ruthsartwork
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 21:37:04

    Thanks, Linda. These are my favorites too. I don’t know what your monitor shows because my pc shows different than our mac, but it is a mossy green on both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

