Commission completed

This Christmas portrait was a little subdued when compared with the pastel I did earlier in the year.  Where the last one had garlands, window wreaths, red bows and two reindeer on the porch, this one only had some lights hanging from the eaves and the tree in the window.

The brick was an interesting mix of grayed browns and pink and blue accents. The trim was the same gray/beige.  Needless to say there was not much in the way of shingles to show.

The brick work was pretty straight forward, but I tried a different technique for the snow on the evergreen trees this time around. I started with just hinting at the branches with the ink and not adding too much green at the start.  I tried to show the snow basically with shadowing.  Overall, I like the effect of this pastel.  I feel cold just looking at it.  Brrr.  Winter.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaci
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 18:46:34

    Ruth, this is delightful! (and I don’t like snow, either!, LOL)

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 19:48:52

    Thanks, Jaci. I hope he likes it too. Winter is my least favorite season. I think I love spring the best.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 17:26:56

    A beauty! I love the muted color palette and it looks so nice and cozy! Whenever I see a limited palette it reminds me I want to do that, and I’ve had a *little* success, but usually I add more colors haha. 🙂

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 18:48:46

    I like the flowers which I can’t do for a snow scene. I’ve done 4 in a row with only a little bit of color, now that I think of it. Two Christmas scenes and two plain inks. I’m ready for something summer like. LOL

    Reply

  5. Sonya Johnson
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 23:33:42

    I guess I missed this earlier because I’ve been out of touch for a bit, but I love it. Funny, winter is by far my least favorite season, but it might be my favorite season to paint :). I really enjoy painting snow and the stark landscape of winter…but, I’m always glad when it’s over.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 12:07:43

    Well, winter is my least favorite season to live through and to draw. LOL Give me spring and summer any time. I love green and the flowers.

    Reply

  7. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 19:30:47

    Wow! Gorgeous.

    Reply

  8. ruthsartwork
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 21:39:09

    Thanks. It was easier than I anticipated. Two winter scenes in one year after never having done even one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

