Winter scene commission

I was surprised when I got yet another Christmas home portrait commission last week. That makes it twice in one year.  I have put the linocuts aside briefly to work on this but will go back to them when I am done.

Snowy Christmas

Snow scenes in pastel are a little off of the beaten path for me, but the one I did earlier this year has put me in good stead for another.  I decided to start with minimal foliage, especially for the fir trees.  I can always add more after I put on the color.  There are no roof shingles showing of course, but I have to suggest changes in the roof planes, as the garage is angled off of the main portion of the house to form a cozy entryway.  The reddish brown front door and sidelites, under a large covered hip, will help add some color.  The brick is a soft pastel gray/beige with accents of pink and blue.

The main feature he wanted was a Christmas tree visible in the bay window and some lights up on the gutters.  I moved the little tree in the front a bit to the right to accomplish this.  The effect is a pleasantly subdued holiday scene.  I have laid down most of the color but am letting it sit a day before I finish it up.  Snow is so tricky.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 14:42:41

    This looks great! I love the detailed entryway and the different trees. Should be a really nice one!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 15:54:50

    Thanks Cindy. The color is coming along well and I should finish tomorrow. I’ll probably post it on Sunday.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 13:23:33

    Wow. Perfect placement for that Christmas tree in the window, Ruth. This is going to be beautiful!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 15:07:24

    I’ve been slowly adding the pastels so as not to overdo it. The house is really muted in color, so having the trees right will add some visual interest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

