Putting on the Pastels

Windowscape

I have worked on the pastel coloring of the window scape for the last few days.  I over did the spray fixative on the last one a bit and have had a hard time getting a good photo of it due to glare created by the gloss sheen, so I held back on the spray this time. It made it  little slower going as I tried to lay most of the pastels before a preliminary spray, but I think it was worth while.  My brain has gotten a little confused with all of the watercolor work but I’m getting back to normal.

It was a little bit different not have the door as a focal point but I think that the window array turned out to be satisfactory.  The crazy brick pattern that I didn’t do as well as I wanted has receded somewhat with the color.  I am debating deepening the timber color, but it is actually a bit richer in the actual pastel.

There was a lot more landscaping since  there was no  stoop or sidewalk to be concerned with and I decided to go ahead with trees in the background.  I just felt that the blue sky was not the effect that I wanted and so I wrapped the house with the foliage.  The windows would have been too symmetrical without the slice of gable on the upper left, so I am glad I left it in.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 20:18:22

    Looks great! Beautiful, warm orangey red color. And I think the trees instead of sky was a great move. Makes it seem more secluded and off in the forest, maybe on a mountain.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 21:42:46

    For some reason I had trouble with the photos for this one and the last one. The colors are actually much richer. I don’t know if it is me, the camera or the light, although I tried morning, noon, and night, sun and shade.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 21:35:38

    You are so good at this, Ruth!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 22:19:18

    Thanks Leslie. I wish the photo was better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

