Just windows this time

Just windows

I worked on the last pastel for a few hours and touched up the shadows. It doesn’t look radically different, so I have moved on to the next drawing. For a change, but staying within an architectural theme, I selected a picture that was mostly windows and had no doors. I liked the upper windows and all of the timber work. Once again the brick mason was having fun and you will see some angles when I lay down the inking.

I may or may not keep the dormer on the upper left but I probably won’t decide until I see how the inking lays out.  Sometimes I don’t make those kinds of decisions until I get half way through.  I just have to remember to leave it uninked for a while.  That is not always easy when I am in the midst of working, just as I sometimes forget where the edges are.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 18:46:08

    It’s hard to tell what it will look like at this stage. I might have guessed it was a barn with those cross beams across the middle section. I have no idea what they’re called. Cross beams sounded good. Maybe diagonal boards. Maybe I would have guessed it was boarded up. I suspect it will look like a different building next time you post it!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 22:20:46

    I believe those beams are called fochwork. It is hard to tell from the light pencil work but I don’t like to put in too much detail at this stage. I tend to get overwhelmed by it if I do, so I kind of do it an area at a time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

