Working through a new architectural

I have decided to come back to the architecturals for a while. I feel refreshed from the recent abstracts and animal art and have decided to work on a few of the more traditional pieces.  I will probably make a companion pastel as I cut up a larger board for this and have some matching blanks.

For some reason I had a hard time with the pencil up of this drawing. Even though it is only about 8″x 8″, it took me two afternoons to lay it out.  I could not get the entryway balanced, mostly because my vision was not co-operating and refused to focus on the small details.  Maybe it is time for a stronger pair of reading glasses over my contacts.

Curvy entryway

The pen and ink went a lot faster, perhaps because the sharper lines were easier to focus on.  I am somewhat pleased with how it has turned out.  You can’t tell from the drawing yet, but the doorway is recessed in an alcove created by the entryway bumpout.  This should be easy to show when I add the pastels tomorrow.  I should be able to do most of the color in one day and touch up the next.

I like the curved roof over the doorway and the arched lintel. The circle top doorway mirrors the other architectural details in a pleasing way too.  I will have to balance the window blacks somehow on the left side, but I am not sure what I’ll do until I start the color.  I am a little concerned that I cut the top roof line off too short but perhaps it will be better after the color is added.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 20:05:21

    This is looking great! I love all those details you mentioned. The brickwork is just wonderful. I’m really going to have to try a building or streetscape one of these days!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 21:06:36

    Thanks Cindy. You should. You might try something like my abstracts as a base. Your swirls and bright colors would look great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

