Berries, Red, Not Black

I took a few of my red raspberries from the refrigerator to make a companion piece to the blackberry watercolor.  But while the blackberries are home grown, sadly, the red raspberries are not.  At one time I had some very prolific thornless bushes but unfortunately I have never been able to replace them.  It would seem that they should fall under my live or die rule, but I keep on trying because they are one of my favorites.

Red Raspberries

I cut another piece of board the same size as the last and drew up the berries.  Again, I laid on the yellow first and then progressed onto the reds.  I used an orangy red called fire engine first and then went to alizarin crimson which appears a bit cooler to me.  After several layers of each, making sure that I let the paint completely dry, I put on some purple.

I think the raspberries turned out okay, but in putting the pair together, I wish I had put the double leaves on the other side, so that compositionally they were a little different.  Oh well, I think the heat and humidity have finally gotten to my brain.  When I went outside to take the picture, my camera fogged over and it was only 10 am.  Highs close to 100 again.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 17:16:43

    These are great too, though not as many colors as the blackberries. Without the text both berry types would make a really great border on a tea towel or hand towel or um, what else do you put borders on? Oh! Maybe some stationary with alternating berry pages, either as a corner decoration or maybe even faded out across the whole page. Very pretty and decorative, is I guess what I’m saying. 😉

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 18, 2012 @ 17:55:41

      Yes, the colors of the black are more subtle that the reds. In dome ways the blackberries were easier to paint.. Those are some interesting ideas for them though. This fall I plan to take a class for photoshop and get to having better pictures and better use of them.

      Reply

  2. Angela Shella
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 17:49:42

    I like it a lot. Refreshing!

    Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 17:56:08

    Thanks Angela. And afterwards I got to eat them!

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 20:49:44

    Excellent, Ruth! Yes, you are correct about warm for fire engine red and cool for alizarin crimson. Fire engine red is one of my favorite colors to play around with. The red raspberries are super!

    Reply

  5. ruthsartwork
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 21:05:07

    Glad you agree about what my eyes see. Sometimes it seems that I see too many colors and it gets overwhelming. Or I don’t trust what I think. That is what I have been trying to work on with these more abstract works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

