In honor of the blackberries

I went out and picked another half gallon of berries today.  It may be the last time I go out as it is starting to heat up again and the returns are diminishing.  Still, I have picked 2 1/2 gallons in a year of severe drought, so I shouldn’t complain.

Blackberries

In honor of nature’s bounty in spite of the extremely dry weather, I took a 4.5″ x 7″ piece of leftover board and painted a few of the blackberries I picked earlier today.  Once again, I think the leaves aren’t quite right, but I do like the way the berries turned out.  I started them out by laying on some bright yellow, then moved onto an orange red. Then came my reddish-purple and lastly my own mix of blue-gray.  Even though it is a small painting, I did it over the course of a couple of hours.  I felt  that not letting the watercolor layers dry completely, even with the use of the hair dryer, would only serve to muddy the berries, especially as I started to darken them.  I decided to quit before I got carried away and ended up painting totally over the lighter base colors – an easy thing to have done with the blue gray.  Tomorrow’s eyes will tell me if I need to add anything else.

I have some red raspberries in the refrigerator and perhaps a companion piece would be fun.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 14:06:08

    Your berries look real! I like your idea about a companion piece of red raspberries!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 15:11:22

    Thanks, Leslie. I am working on it today.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 17:13:33

    I love the color mix of the berries! I think you handled it just right. And I think the leaves look great!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 17:51:46

    I do like the effect of the berries. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

